Happiness in a BOWL

I love RAMEN. I love it more than I love chocolates. It brings a certain comfort and uplifts the spirit. Yes, it gives that level of happiness and for sure some people can relate.

I have tried different ramen restaurants for the past 3 years. It’s best eaten during the cold weather but I definitely can still enjoy a bowl during the hot weather. Let me share the Top 5 on my list.

 

  1. Ukkokei Ramen Ron

The Ukkokei Shio Chashu Ramen is to die for! The richness of the broth, the tenderness of the roast pork and the perfectly soft noodles make me want to go back over and over again (if only it’s near my place). I have only tried it once more than 2 years ago but it has remained to be my number 1!

PPost

Branch visited:     
Ukokkei Ramen Ron
McKinley Hill
Upper Mckinley Rd. McKinley Hill, Taguig

 

2. Ramen Nagi

I was first introduced to Ramen Nagi in Hong Kong in 2013. It was in a street more than a kilometer away from our hotel. That was before lunch time but people were already lining up outside and we had a flight to catch. When the first branch finally opened in the Philippines, I was just so ecstatic to try it.

There are a lot of flavors to choose from and I so like the idea that you can actually customize your ramen given a colored pencil and a paper: the ramen flavor, level of saltiness and spiciness of the broth, softness of the noodles, which part of pork, cabbage or green onions, and other additional toppings. By default, I would always order The Original King (Butao) customized on my level of taste, with additional order of Tamago. So yum! The no take-out policy is never an issue, I can finish a bowl every time!

Branches visited:
Ramen Nagi -L5 SM Aura Premier 26th Street Corner and C5 1201, McKinley Pkwy, Taguig, Metro Manila
The Podium, 12 ADV Avenue, Mandaluyong, 1550 Metro Manila
UP Town Center, Katipunan AveLoyola Heights, Quezon City

 

3.   Wrong Ramen

Thank God for friends who love ramen too, I got introduced to Wrong Ramen. This tiny, unconventional, locally-developed ramen house is one of a kind. They may not be an authentic Japanese restaurant but the ramen is so good and worth coming back. The serving is big, with flavorful broth, perfectly cooked thin and firm noodles, plus additional Runny Egg (their version of Tamago) combination is perfect! Got to try Tantanmen, a bold, nutty sesame broth with a mild spicy kick served with ground pork and shredded chashu.

10489661_10152655014407628_28364294985693253_n

Branch visited:
Wrong Ramen
Forbes Town Center, Forbestown Rd. Fort Bonifacio, Taguig

 

4.   Kichitora of Tokyo

I love Kichitora’s accessibility as one of its branches is located in my forever go-to-mall. Aside from the ramen, I also liked trying their other dishes. Their Paitan Ramen is my favorite, and anyone can order in small bowls, cheaper yet super satisfying and filling. Loving the combination of colors too!

13931668_10154426185617628_865553594_o

Branch visited:
Kichitora of Tokyo
2/F SM Megamall, Mega Atrium, Julia Vargas Ave. Wack Wack, Mandaluyong

 

5.      Ippudo Ramen

This number is crucial and can still be replaced by a better one later on. But right now, Ippudo is in my 5th spot.

I got so curious when they opened their branch in Megamall and people are piling up outside, waiting to be seated. Tried it a few weeks after their opening, and in the afternoon to avoid waiting game. Tried their Shiromaru Motoaji Ramen as suggested by the server and it is good, though I was expecting more flavors in the broth. Hoping to try the other ramen flavors too so long as they are not spicy (I don’t like spicy). Got to try their appetizers too and they are all yummy!

Branch visited:
Ippudo Ramen Philippines
3/F SM Megamall, Mega Fashion Hall, Julia Vargas Ave cor EDSA
Wack Wack Mandaluyong

 

Other Ramen places I tried:

Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

Ramen Bar

Ryu Ramen and Curry

Tamagoya

Shinjuku

Shachihoko Ramen

Roku

Teriyaki Boy (well not their specialty)

Etc. Etc.

I know I haven’t explored that much but given the time, budget, and energy (uhm, patience for Manila traffic?!?) I would love to explore further especially in areas I am not frequently at. My shirt in one of the photos above says it all, and it can actually be a uniform in my every ramen encounters: Happiness is a bowl of Ramen. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

